Brian Rast Inducted Into Poker Hall of Fame

The Poker Hall of Fame now has its newest member. Brian Rast was inducted into the Hall of Fame on Thursday. The six-time WSOP bracelet winner has over $25 million in career cashes and is the only person to win the $50,000 Poker Player’s Championship three times.

Meanwhile, the World Series of Poker Main Event has reached the final table. The event set records for the largest Main Event in history. This year’s final is one of the most diverse in history, with three Americans, two Brits, and one player each from Germany, Italy, Spain, and Ukraine. Unfortunately, Australia will not be represented at this year’s final, as Daniel Dzian was the last Aussie standing in the 2023 Main Event.

Brian Rast is the newest member of the Poker Hall of Fame. Rast was inducted this past Thursday before the start of the Poker Hall of Fame Bounty NL Hold’em tournament. An induction ceremony was held in the Paris Ballroom in Paris, Las Vegas where Rast was officially nominated and added to the Poker Hall of Fame exhibit inside the Horseshoe Las Vegas.

WSOP Jack Effel spoke at the event, stating, “With a nearly 20-year-long career riddled with record-breaking wins and historic runs, Brian Rast is one of the best poker players we’ve ever seen.

With the 2023 WSOP breaking records left and right, it only makes sense to put a record-setter himself amongst some of the greatest of all time. We are honoured to induct Brian Rast into the Poker Hall of Fame and look forward to his successes to come.”

Rast had one of the most impressive resumes out of those up for nomination. He has six World Series of Poker bracelets and over $25 million in career poker tournament earnings. He is also one of the world’s elite cash game players, regularly competing against and defeating the best high-stakes cash game players in the world.

Last month, Rast won the $50,000 Poker Players Championship for his sixth bracelet. He also set a record for being the first player to win the PPC three times. At the time, many considered the victory the clincher for his induction, which proved to be prophetic.

Rast is the 62nd member of the Poker Hall of Fame. Last year, Layne Flack was posthumously honoured.

Joe Hachem Among Aussies Making Deep Main Event Run

The World Series of Poker Main Event proved to be the largest Main Event in history. A record 10,043 players took to the felt to create a prize pool of over $93 million.

A bit of controversy occurred when the prize pool was announced, as the ultimate winner will receive $12.1 million. This is only $100,000 more than when Jamie Gold won the previous record Main Event in 2006. The difference is that the event pays more of the field compared to 2006, thus resulting in a lower-than-expected record prize.

Over eight days, the field was whittled down to a final table of nine. We saw numerous notable Aussie players make a deep run during that time. The most famous of those players was 2005 WSOP Main Event winner and Australian Poker Hall of Fame member Joe Hachem.

Hachem managed to make the money and even made the top 500. However, he ultimately fell in 402nd place. While well short of the final table, he still earned $40,000 for his deep run.

Other notable Aussies making deep runs in the Main Event include Andrew Batey (372nd), Minh Nguyen (358th), and David Sebesfi (202nd). The honour of “Last Aussie Standing” went to Daniel Dzian. He went on an incredible run to finish in 52nd place. This was easily his largest live tournament score, earning him $188,400.

All-American Affair for WSOP Main Event Title

The WSOP Main Event final table kicked off on Sunday. Adam Walton from the United States was the chip leader, while pro Toby Lewis started as the short stack. Only three of the final nine players that started the final table were from the United States, and by the time that action was completed on Sunday, the Americans advanced to Monday’s final.

Steven Jones is the overall chip leader with 230 million. Daniel Weinman is the only WSOP bracelet winner left in the field, and he will start Monday’s play with 199 million. Adam Walton starts the final with the short stack at 165 million.

The final three players are competing for the world championship bracelet and the $10.1 million top prize. Below are the remaining finishers at the final table and their prizes.

  • Jan-Peter Jachtmann – Germany – $3,000,000
  • Rusian Prydryk – Ukraine – $2,400,000
  • Dean Hutchinson – United Kingdom – $1,850,000
  • Toby Lewis – United Kingdom – $1,425,000
  • Juan Maceiras – Spain – $1,125,000
  • Daniel Holzner – Italy – $900,000
Rose Varrelli avatar
Rose Varrelli
Senior Casino & News Writer

Hi there! I’m Rose, and with nine years behind me in the iGaming industry, I craft engaging narratives at CasinoAus. My education in Communication across Europe has sharpened my skills in fintech, casino legislation, and digital marketing. Backed by a strong foundation in SEO, storytelling, and cross-cultural communication, I’m passionate about creating content that resonates globally and educates our audience.

Subscribe For Exclusive Offers And Content!

Sign up for exclusive content: casino bonus offers, articles, eBooks, and the latest news. Now directly in your inbox!